He is For You

Have you heard the new-ish song, “The Blessing”, put out by Elevation Church a few months ago? The first time I heard it, I couldn’t get enough of it and played it over and over about a million times. 

(Here’s the link if you want to take a listen.)

When it gets to the part that says, “In your weeping and rejoicing, He is for you, He is for you, He is for you…” (they seriously repeat it so many times!) I often get a bit of a lump in my throat. It almost sounds too good to be true.

When you’re the mom, it doesn’t always feel like someone is for you.

You are for them. 

You take care of them.

You feed them.

You help them maneuver the events of their days.

But where do you turn when life seems so big and so hard and you’re the one who’s supposed to be holding everyone else up? 

As a mom of children with trauma in their background, there are times when I am so emotionally and physically drained that finishing the day seems insurmountable.  Often I’ll close myself in my room, and with earbuds in, listen to “The Blessing”. My trickle of tears turns into a stream as the words, “HE IS FOR YOU,” drift across my raw heart. I just can’t believe it. To think that God, the one who is maintaining the entire universe, is for me? He sees me. He sees what I’m dealing with. He not only loves my children, but He loves me and He is for me.

More often than not, that is just the shot in the arm that I need to help me take a deep breath, dry my tears, reapply the eye makeup, and go on to face my world. 

Are you a mom who is struggling to keep it all together? Are you lonely? Feeling overwhelmed? 

Remember, He is for you.

And here’s the proof-

Psalm 56:8-9  “You keep track of all my sorrows. You have collected all my tears in your bottle. You have recorded each one in your book. My enemies will retreat when I call to you for help. This I know: God is on my side!”

Psalm 121:8 “The Lord keeps watch over you as you come and go, both now and forever.”

Ezekiel 36:9a See, I care about you, and I will pay attention to you.”

So let me leave you with the blessing found in Numbers 6:24-26

“The Lord bless you

    and keep you;

the Lord make his face shine on you

    and be gracious to you;

 the Lord turn his face toward you

and give you peace.”

2 thoughts on “He is For You

Comments are closed.